Login
You're viewing the appalorchard.com public feed.
  • Sep 11, 2026, 9:17 PM

    But as I’m doing that I form a suspicion about what happened to the encryption the first time, and once I save the Time Machine configuration, my suspicion is confirmed: when I turned off encryption in the Time Machine configuration, Time Machine _reformatted the filesystem on the drive and removed the encryption_. Wow, _that’s_ certainly completely intuitive behavior that I would totally have expected!
    12/13

    💬 1🔄 0⭐ 0

Replies

  • Sep 11, 2026, 9:17 PM

    So I start over, a third time, and this time I say yes, I do want to encrypt the backup, and give the Time Machine configuration window the same passphrase I had already given to Disk Utility. It reformats the drive, but this time it keeps the encryption.

    You have got to be fucking kidding me with this shit.
    13/13

    💬 0🔄 0⭐ 0