Hmm, maybe a reboot helps?
Nope, it's the switch design that requires a separate "Save configuration" button press after making a change to write the config to NVRAM.
Which is impossible to do after hitting Apply on the DHCP setting as it immediately loses its previous IP address, so after a power-cycle, you're back to square one.